Disclosure: kittynex.com participates in affiliate programs including Petlibro, PETKIT, Chewy and Amazon Associates. Affiliate links on this page carry rel="sponsored"; we may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
The short answer
Petlibro wins on hardware and app polish. PETKIT wins on cameras and price per feature.
If you want the better-engineered feeder, buy the Petlibro Granary 2 at $129.99. It adds a 1-gram bowl scale, a rechargeable battery with a 24-hour rating, and both smart-refill and scheduled modes — none of which PETKIT matches at that price.
If you want the best camera value, buy the PETKIT YumShare Solo 2 at $149.99. You get AI facial recognition and live video, and WIRED’s tester noted that PETKIT’s AI camera features don’t require a subscription — unlike Petlibro’s Vision models, which need a Video Cloud AI plan for recording and playback.
If your home runs on 5 GHz Wi-Fi only, look carefully: PETKIT’s cheapest feeder is 2.4 GHz only, and so are several Petlibro models.
Table of contents
- The two product lines
- Head-to-head: what actually differs
- Capacity and portion control
- Materials and cleaning
- App features and subscriptions
- Dual power and power outages
- Price comparison
- Which brand should you buy?
- Our Verdict
- How We Researched This
- Sources
The two product lines
Before comparing, get the lineups straight. Both brands sell three tiers of dry-food feeder, plus specialty units.
PETKIT’s feeder lineup:
| Model | Price (US) | Capacity | Camera |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fresh Element Solo | $69.99 | 3 L (12 cups) | No |
| YumShare Dual-hopper (with Camera) | $119.99 | 5 L (21 cups) | Yes, HD |
| YumShare Solo 2 | $149.99 | 3 L (12 cups) | Yes, AI |
| YumShare Dual-hopper 2 | $169.99 | 5 L (21 cups) | Yes, AI |
Petlibro’s feeder lineup:
| Model | Price (US) | Capacity | Camera |
|---|---|---|---|
| Granary Smart Feeder | $89.99 / $99.99 dual | 5 L | No |
| Granary 2 | $129.99 | 5 L | No |
| Granary Smart Camera Feeder | $139.99 / $149.99 dual | 5 L | Yes, 1080p |
| One RFID Smart Feeder | $149.99 | [DATA NOT VERIFIED: not stated in the spec block we fetched] | No |
| Polar Smart Wet Food Feeder | $169.99 | 3 meals / 3 days | No |
| Granary 2 Vision | $189.99 | 5 L | Yes, 1080p + AI recognition |
| Granary 2 X | $279.99 | 5 L | Yes, 1080p + AI access control |
Notice the structural difference immediately. Petlibro’s line is wider and reaches much higher: it sells a refrigerated wet-food feeder, an RFID collar-tag feeder, and a $279.99 model that gates bowl access by camera. PETKIT’s line is narrower and sits mostly between $70 and $170, but its mid-tier models do things Petlibro charges more for.
Head-to-head: what actually differs
Here’s the comparison that matters, matching the closest equivalents.
| Feature | PETKIT YumShare Solo 2 ($149.99) | Petlibro Granary 2 ($129.99) |
|---|---|---|
| Hopper capacity | 3 L (12 cups) | 5 L |
| Bowl material | 304 stainless steel | Stainless steel |
| Body material | ABS, 304 stainless steel, silicone | BPA-free ABS, silicone |
| Bowl scale / weight tracking | AI camera estimates bowl food level | 1-gram bowl scale |
| Camera | Yes, AI face recognition | None |
| Pet recognition | Up to 15 pets by face | n/a |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 & 5 GHz | 2.4 & 5 GHz |
| Power | DC 6V adapter + 5× AAA backup (not included) | Corded + rechargeable battery, 24 h rating |
| Meals per day | Up to 10 | Up to 10 |
| Kibble size | Dry up to 12 mm; freeze-dried up to 9 mm | 2–15 mm |
| Subscription for camera features | Manufacturer states camera features work without one | n/a — no camera |
| Subscription for insights | Not required per vendor pages | Petlibro Care required for eating-habit alerts |
Two things jump out. First, the capacity gap is real and favors Petlibro at a lower price — 5 L versus 3 L, $20 cheaper. Second, PETKIT gives you a camera and pet recognition at $149.99 while Petlibro’s camera model with AI recognition is $189.99. If you’re still deciding whether you need a feeder at all, start with our best automatic cat feeder guide.
Which to buy: the PETKIT YumShare Solo 2 if the camera and pet recognition are what you are paying for; the Petlibro Granary 2 if capacity per dollar matters more.
The counterargument is the bowl scale. Petlibro’s Granary 2 measures food to within 1 gram and tracks dispensed, eaten, and remaining food by weight. PETKIT’s approach is camera-based estimation of bowl food level, and its advertised purpose is to auto-pause dispensing when the bowl is full — not to log grams eaten. If you want to know exactly how much your cat ate, weight beats image estimation. If you want to know which cat ate, the camera wins.
WIRED’s reviewer compared the two brands’ apps directly and found PETKIT’s app "isn’t as reliable or as easy to use as Petlibro’s app." That’s one tester’s assessment, not a benchmark — but it’s worth weighing against PETKIT’s lower camera pricing, and it’s one reason we cover both brands’ documented app faults in the automatic cat feeder troubleshooting guide.
Capacity and portion control
Portion size. Both brands converge on roughly the same unit: about 10 g or 1/12 cup. Petlibro states one portion is approximately 20 ml or 10 g on the Granary 2, with a maximum of 6 portions per dispense. PETKIT states each portion is about 10 g ≈ 1/12 cup on the Fresh Element Solo.
Hopper life. Petlibro publishes a useful figure that PETKIT does not quantify the same way: a full Granary 2 hopper lasts approximately 30 days, based on a typical 5 kg adult cat eating around 80 g of dry food per day. PETKIT says its 3 L hopper "is estimated to store about 1.33 kg (2.9 lbs) of food, which is enough to feed an adult cat for 15 days."
That’s a direct, vendor-published comparison: 30 days versus 15 days for a single cat. If you travel or refill infrequently, the 5 L Petlibro tank matters.
A contradiction to flag. PETKIT’s own Solo 2 pages disagree with themselves. The spec block lists portions per meal as 1–5, while the FAQ says up to 10 meals per day with 1–10 portions per meal. Weight is also listed as both 3.74 lb (1.7 kg) and 3.94 lb (1.8 kg) in different places. [DATA NOT VERIFIED: PETKIT’s YumShare Solo 2 product page states two different portion ranges and two different weights.] Verify on the current page before buying if either matters.
Kibble compatibility. PETKIT is the more permissive of the two on small pieces: it accepts dry kibble up to 12 mm and freeze-dried up to 9 mm. Petlibro’s Granary 2 runs 2–15 mm, which covers larger kibble but explicitly excludes "oversized or irregularly shaped pieces (cubes, crescents, etc.)." Both brands are narrow on irregular shapes. That limitation is behind most jam complaints on either platform.
Materials and cleaning
This section is closer than the marketing suggests.
Bowl. Both brands use 304 stainless steel on their main dry-food feeders. This matters more than it sounds: plastic bowls scratch, and scratched plastic harbors bacteria. WIRED’s tester specifically praised a stainless bowl for this reason and criticized plastic bowls on competing units. Neither brand is cutting corners here on its flagship feeders.
Body. Petlibro specifies "BPA-Free ABS, Silicone"; PETKIT specifies "ABS, 304 stainless steel, Silicone" without the BPA-free claim on the Solo 2 spec block. [DATA NOT VERIFIED: PETKIT’s Solo 2 spec block does not state BPA-free construction; the Petlibro Granary 2 does.]
Cleaning design. PETKIT’s Fresh Element Solo is explicitly marketed on "easy cleaning with fully detachable modules," and the Solo 2 manual documents a tool-free process: hold the PUSH buttons on both sides and lift the hopper off. Its fresh-lock system uses a triple- or quadruple-fresh lock depending on model. Petlibro uses a "quadruple sealed" hopper on the Granary Smart Feeder and a desiccant pack on the Granary 2 — the Granary 2 ships with a desiccant pack described as "2 bags, meant to be used together," and the manufacturer sells replacement desiccant bags at $19.99.
Cleaning cadence. Petlibro’s help center addresses maintenance frequency directly through its "How often should I clean the feeder?" and "Maintenance & Cleaning" pages. We noted these pages exist but the answer body did not render reliably on repeated fetches. [DATA NOT VERIFIED: Petlibro’s stated cleaning interval could not be retrieved; the page returned a connection-verification interstitial.]
The practical difference: PETKIT’s modular design is easier to wash weekly. Petlibro’s is bulkier — the Granary 2 weighs 2.99 kg / 6.59 lb and measures 357 × 180 × 356 mm — and must sit on a hard, flat floor, "not suitable for carpet."
App features and subscriptions
This is where the two brands diverge most, and where the sticker price misleads.
PETKIT’s app handles scheduling, per-pet meal history, low-food alerts, desiccant-replacement reminders, firmware updates, and a custom voice meal call. On the YumShare models, the AI camera identifies up to 15 pets by face and logs meals per pet. PETKIT also advertises one-tap camera off, customizable monitoring hours, and end-to-end encryption. WIRED reported that PETKIT’s AI camera features do not require a subscription — a meaningful difference from competitors.
Petlibro’s app handles scheduling, feeding logs, manual on-demand feeding, and alerts. On its Vision models, the AI camera recognizes each pet at the bowl and logs meals to the right profile. But two subscription gates apply:
| Subscription | Price | What it unlocks | Required? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Petlibro Care Standard | $47.99/year ($0.13/day) | Free device replacement coverage | Optional |
| Petlibro Care Plus | $103.99/year ($0.28/day) | Free device replacement coverage | Optional |
| Petlibro Care (higher tier shown on Vision pages) | $129.99/year | Extended care tier | Optional |
| Video Cloud AI Standard | $95.99/year ($0.26/day) | Recording/playback for 1 device | Required for Vision recording |
| Video Cloud AI Premium | $135.99/year ($0.37/day) | Recording/playback for 1 device | Required for Vision recording |
| Video Cloud AI Premium Family | $159.99/year ($0.44/day) | Recording/playback for up to 3 devices | Required for Vision recording |
Read that carefully, because it changes the math. A Granary 2 Vision at $189.99 plus Video Cloud AI at $95.99/year is $285.98 in year one — more than a Granary 2 X’s sticker price. Petlibro states plainly that "Petlibro Care subscription required for alerts about changes in eating habits" on the Granary 2 series, and "Video Cloud AI subscription required for recording and playback" on the Vision models. Live viewing works without the video plan; recording does not.
PETKIT has no comparable subscription requirement published for its YumShare camera features. Its product page notes only that "certain services may require in-app purchases."
For a fair three-year view: PETKIT’s $149.99 Solo 2 with no required subscription versus Petlibro’s $189.99 Vision plus $95.99/year is roughly $150 versus $478 over three years. That gap is the single strongest argument for PETKIT in this comparison.
Dual power and power outages
Both brands treat battery backup as an emergency feature, not a primary power source, and both are explicit about it.
Petlibro uses built-in rechargeable batteries on the Granary 2 series — no separate battery purchase. The manufacturer rates them for up to 24 hours of backup on the Granary 2 and up to 48 hours on the Vision and X. Petlibro states that during a power outage, Wi-Fi connectivity, camera functions, pet recognition, and feeding schedules continue to operate normally, and adds the honest caveat that "battery performance was measured under Petlibro laboratory conditions. Actual results may vary." It also states the battery "is designed for emergency backup use only and is not intended as a primary power source."
PETKIT uses user-supplied disposable batteries. The Fresh Element Solo takes five AAA alkaline cells; the YumShare Dual-hopper 2 takes four D cells; the YumShare Solo 2 takes five AAA cells. All are sold separately, and the Fresh Element Solo’s power adapter is also not included — it requires a USB port outputting 5V/1A. PETKIT’s stated backup durations differ by model and appear in its comparison tables as 7 days, 14 days, and 60 days across different products. [DATA NOT VERIFIED: PETKIT’s comparison table shows backup battery life of 7 / 14 / 60 days across rows without clearly labeling which model each value belongs to.]
That last point matters. Petlibro’s battery numbers are self-contained and specific. PETKIT’s are longer but harder to attribute to a specific model from the page layout. Treat Petlibro’s numbers as more confidently sourced.
One shared, verified behavior: both brands state that scheduled feedings continue to run locally when the feeder is offline or the Wi-Fi drops.
Price comparison
Matching the closest equivalents by capability:
| Use case | PETKIT option | Petlibro option | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest app feeder | $69.99 Fresh Element Solo (3 L) | $89.99 Granary Smart Feeder (5 L) | Petlibro — more capacity for $20 more |
| Best all-round value | $149.99 YumShare Solo 2 (3 L, AI cam) | $129.99 Granary 2 (5 L, scale, battery) | Tie — depends on camera vs scale |
| Camera without AI | n/a in current lineup | $139.99 Granary Smart Camera Feeder | Petlibro |
| AI camera | $149.99–$169.99 YumShare 2 series | $189.99–$279.99 Granary 2 Vision/X | PETKIT on price; Petlibro on access control |
| Two-food hopper | $119.99–$169.99 YumShare Dual-hopper series | — | PETKIT only |
| Multi-cat food gating | Facial recognition on YumShare 2 | RFID (One, $149.99) or camera-gated (X, $279.99) | Depends on method |
| Wet food | — | $169.99 Polar Smart Wet Food Feeder | Petlibro only |
Both brands’ list prices move with sales; we observed a "save up to 30%" promotion live on Petlibro during research. Treat all figures as list prices observed on 2026-09-19.
Warranty is a genuine differentiator. PETKIT publishes a 1-year limited warranty on US purchases, upgraded to 2 years for specified products bought on or after January 1, 2025 — including the YumShare Solo/2 and Dual-hopper/2. Petlibro promotes a "24-Month, Hassle-Free Warranty." [DATA NOT VERIFIED: Petlibro’s warranty terms page did not render for verification; the 24-month figure comes from its product pages.]
Which brand should you buy?
Buy PETKIT if: you want a camera and pet recognition for the least money, you plan to run more than one feeder and want the dual-hopper option, or you don’t want a subscription tied to camera features. The YumShare Solo 2 at $149.99 covers most of what Petlibro charges $285.98 for in year one.
Buy Petlibro if: you want the bigger 5 L tank, you value weight-based intake tracking over camera estimation, you want a rechargeable backup battery instead of buying D cells, or you need wet food or RFID collar-gated feeding — categories PETKIT’s current US lineup doesn’t cover.
Buy neither, yet, if you’re not sure you need a connected feeder at all. A timer-based unit avoids the entire Wi-Fi failure category, the most common complaint across both brands’ support libraries. If you’re already running other smart pet gear, our best automatic litter box guide covers the same trade-offs for self-cleaning boxes.
Our Verdict
For a single cat in a normal home, we pick the Petlibro Granary 2 at $129.99 over PETKIT’s comparable models. The deciding factors are not flashy: 5 L instead of 3 L, a 1-gram scale instead of camera estimation, a rechargeable backup battery instead of user-supplied cells, and a support documentation library that covers its failure modes in unusually specific detail. It costs $20 less than the YumShare Solo 2 and, for one cat, you don’t need the camera.
For anyone who wants the camera, or who is running multiple feeders, we pick PETKIT. The YumShare Solo 2 at $149.99 and the Dual-hopper 2 at $169.99 deliver AI recognition and live video without a recurring subscription, and the 2-year warranty upgrade covers both. WIRED’s criticism of the PETKIT app is fair and worth knowing, but the price gap over three years is large enough to justify living with it.
How We Researched This
- Manufacturer specifications only. Capacity, materials, power, battery types, portion sizes, prices, and subscription tiers were read from the vendors’ own product pages, specification blocks, and warranty documentation at the URLs below.
- We flagged vendor contradictions rather than resolving them. Where PETKIT’s own pages disagreed on weight or portion ranges, we said so in the article instead of choosing the more attractive number.
- Support libraries as failure evidence. We reviewed both brands’ support documentation — including PETLIBRO’s dedicated pages for jams, offline units, pairing issues, and firmware failures — to identify the problems owners actually report, not the problems marketers anticipate.
- Third-party testing attributed, never absorbed. App-usability and wet-food findings come from WIRED’s hands-on testing and are credited to WIRED in the text.
- No hands-on claims. We have not tested these feeders ourselves. Nothing here is a personal-use claim.
See our methodology page for sourcing and corrections policy.
Sources
Manufacturer product and specification pages:
- https://petlibro.com/
- https://petlibro.com/collections/automatic-pet-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/products/granary-2-smart-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/products/granary-2-vision-smart-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/products/granary-2-x-smart-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/products/granary-2-series
- https://petlibro.com/products/petlibro-5g-wifi-automatic-pet-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/products/petlibro-granary-automatic-pet-feeder-with-camera
- https://petlibro.com/products/one-rfid-pet-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/products/polar-wet-food-pet-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/products/granary-wifi-dual-food-tray
- https://petlibro.com/pages/feeder-comparison
- https://petlibro.com/pages/help-center
- https://www.petkit.com/
- https://www.petkit.com/collections/automatic-pet-feeder
- https://www.petkit.com/products/fresh-element-solo
- https://www.petkit.com/products/yumshare-solo-2-automatic-feeder-with-camera
- https://www.petkit.com/products/yumshare-dual-hopper-2-automatic-feeder-with-camera
- https://www.petkit.com/products/yumshare-dual-hopper-with-camera
- https://www.petkit.com/pages/warranty-policy
- https://www.petkit.com/pages/manual-downloads
Support and troubleshooting documentation:
- https://petlibro.com/pages/faq-product/granary-2
- https://petlibro.com/pages/faq-product/granary-smart-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/pages/faq-product/one-rfid-smart-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/pages/faq-product/polar-smart-wet-food-feeder
- https://petlibro.com/pages/how-to-fix-a-feeder-that-is-not-dispensing-food
- https://petlibro.com/pages/how-to-clear-a-food-jam
- https://petlibro.com/pages/how-to-fix-a-feeder-that-will-not-power-on
- https://petlibro.com/pages/how-to-fix-frequent-wi-fi-disconnections
- https://petlibro.com/pages/how-to-fix-device-pairing-issues
- https://petlibro.com/pages/why-cant-i-connect-my-feeder-to-wi-fi
- https://instructions.petkit.com/App%20Manual/D4SH-2/D4SH-2_User%20Manual_EN_V1.0_20251024_%20.pdf
- https://instructions.petkit.com/App%20Manual/D4H-2/D4H-2_UserManual_EN_V1.1_20260226.pdf
Independent testing:
- https://www.wired.com/gallery/best-automatic-cat-feeders/